Howard R. Raper Award

Dr. Howard R. Raper was a 1906 graduate of the Indiana Dental College, which is now the Indiana University School of Dentistry. He then served on the faculty of the College until 1917, when he moved with his wife, Thelma, to the Southwest (at the age of 30) for health reasons. The move must have done him good, as he lived to be 91!

In 1909, Dr. Raper was the first educator to bring radiology into a dental school clinic for regular daily use, convincing his dean of the importance of x rays to the dental profession. Indiana University became the first dental school to install x-ray equipment. Dr. Raper was the first dental educator to hold the title of “Professor of Radiology,” and the first to teach radiology to dental students in a dental school curriculum.

In 1913, Dr. Raper published “Elementary and Dental Radiography,” the first textbook in oral radiology. In 1925, in cooperation with the Eastman Kodak Company, he developed the bitewing examination. He was an eloquent and prolific writer. His book “Man against Pain,” on the history of anesthesia was published in 1945. He contributed “As I See It” columns in “Dental Survey” from 1950 to 1963.

Honors bestowed on Dr. Raper included the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Indiana University, the Callahan Medal from The Ohio State University, the Dentist of the Half Century Award (presented by the New Mexico State Dental Society in 1950), the doctor of laws degree from the University of New Mexico, and the Award of Merit from the Horace Wells Society, named for the “father” of modern anesthesiology. Not a member of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, he was made an Honorary Fellow on March 17, 1958. He died on January 15, 1978 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.



The Howard R. Raper Award, sponsored by  the Indiana University School of Dentistry in cooperation with the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, has been established to recognize a promising graduate student who demonstrates an interest in oral and maxillofacial radiology and intends to pursue a career in academia. The monetary award is intended to help the student’s academic pursuits.


The recipient of the award will receive:

  • Monetary prize of $1000 (contributed in part by the Howard Riley Raper Fund from India University School of Dentistry)
  • Certificate

The awardee will be announced and recognized at the Annual Session of the AAOMR.


The award is given to a graduate student who is in the second or third year of an oral and maxillofacial radiology graduate or postgraduate educational program at the time of application. The candidate’s nomination for the award must be made by the program director. Applicants are not eligible for the Radiology Centennial Scholarship Award on the same application cycle. Applicants should be members of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology or should have applied for membership at the time of application.


  • Online application form (Click Here)
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Career plans
  • Letter of reference from the OMFR residency Program Director

Selection Criteria

The criteria for judging the nominees will be based on academic achievement in the graduate or postgraduate program and on potential and interest in oral and maxillofacial radiology. The selection committee shall consist of the chairman, who shall be a member of the faculty at the Indiana University School of Dentistry, and six additional AAOMR active members, one of whom shall be the Academy’s President.